Overview of Sacraments

A sacrament is an outward sign instituted by Christ to give grace. There are 7 sacraments.

Sacraments of Initiation

  • gives our souls the new life of sanctifying grace by which we become children of God and heirs of heaven.

  • enables us to profess our faith as strong and perfect Christians and soldiers of Jesus Christ through the strengthening of the Holy Spirit.

  • Holy Eucharistis the body, blood, soul and divinity of our Lord Jesus Christ given to us as our spiritual food.

Sacraments of Healing

  • Penance(also called Reconciliation or Confession) is the sacrament by which sins committed after Baptism are forgiven through the absolution of the priest. View our Confession schedule.

    Examination of Conscience (PDF)

  • Sacrament of the Sickis an anointing with blessed oil by the priest, and through his prayer, gives health and strength to the soul and sometimes to the body.

Sacraments of Vocation

  • Holy Ordersis where men receive the power and grace to perform the sacred duties of bishops, priests, and other ministers of the Church.

  • is the sacrament by which a man and woman bind themselves for life in a lawful marriage and receive the grace to discharge their duties.